Auto insurance is a requirement for all drivers in New Jersey. Failing to have sufficient auto insurance while operating a vehicle in New Jersey can lead to expensive fines and potentially even criminal charges.
New Jersey Minimum Insurance Requirements
Drivers in New Jersey can not only get in trouble for not having an insurance policy, but also for not carrying the state minimum of insurance. All drivers in New Jersey must carry a minimum of the following:
- $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $5,000 liability coverage for property damages
New Jersey also requires all drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Buying a minimum coverage policy in New Jersey will typically meet these requirements.
Potential Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in New Jersey
The consequences of driving without insurance in New Jersey depend on a few factors. For one, driving without proof of insurance and not having insurance are two distinct things. New Jersey also charges more heavily if you have had previous occurrences of driving without insurance charges.
Driving With No Proof of Insurance
Driving without proof of insurance is illegal, but not as severe as driving without an insurance policy. No proof of insurance, with the ability to prove coverage, may lead to fees of between $300 and $1,000. If drivers don’t show proof of insurance within 24 hours, jail time is also possible.
First Offense With No Insurance
Drivers who don’t have sufficient insurance, and it’s a first offense, may be charged with a suspended license, required community service time, and fines between $300 and $1,000.
No Insurance Repeat Offense
Drivers with a previous no insurance charge may receive fines up to $5,000 and up to 14 days of jail or community service.
Driving without insurance, regardless of what state or whether it’s a first or repeat offense, can also experience increased insurance rates when they do enroll in a policy.
No Insurance and a Car Accident
Drivers who are charged with no insurance following a car accident will likely receive expensive legal fines and harsh consequences, regardless of who is at fault for the accident. In this situation, the driver will be personally responsible for any damages they cause. Depending on the severity of the accident, this can be expensive. Even if it’s not your fault, but you don’t have insurance, your legal options will be limited.
Buying Car Insurance in New Jersey After a No Insurance Violation
Car insurance is a requirement in New Jersey. Drivers who have a lapse in coverage may receive higher rates than those with continuous insurance. It’s also illegal to drive someone else’s car if you don’t have insurance. If you plan on driving someone else’s car, but don’t own a vehicle yourself, you may qualify for cheaper non-owner rates.
If you’re in a car accident and don’t have sufficient insurance, it may be a good idea to contact a criminal defense lawyer to consider your options.
Contact an Experienced Freehold Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your No Insurance Charges in New Brunswick
Were you arrested or charged with no insurance in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Rudnick, Addonizio, Pappa & Casazza PC have successfully represented clients charged with no insurance in Freehold, Perth Amboy, Long Branch, Middletown, and throughout New Jersey. Call (732) 264-4400 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at Park Village, 25 Village Court Highway, #35 Hazlet, NJ 07730, as well as an office in East Brunswick, NJ.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.
Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.