Underage DWI Lawyers in Piscataway, NJ
Experienced DUI Defense Attorneys Represent Juveniles Charged with Underage DWI in Middlesex County, Monmouth County, and Ocean County, NJ
It’s not unusual to get a horrible feeling in the pit of your stomach when you see flashing red and blue police lights on any New Jersey road. This is true for even the most experienced drivers. However, if the police officer suspects driving and driving (DWI/DUI), and the driver is underage, the fear should be very real.
New Jersey has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. This means that drivers who are under 21 and convicted of DWI will be facing severe penalties – even if it’s your first offense! Contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will work tirelessly to protect your child’s rights. At the law firm of Rudnick, Addonizio, Pappa & Casazza PC, we have more than 80 years of combined legal experience. From our Hazlet and East Brunswick offices, we serve clients in and around Middletown, Keyport and Union Beach.
Experienced Traffic Attorneys Protect Your Child Charged with DWI in Long Branch, New Jersey
Anyone under age 21 who gets stopped by a cop while operating a motor vehicle (car, truck, motorcycle, powerboat, etc.) in violation of NJ’s zero DWI tolerance policy may be subject to the same penalties as an adult DWI offender. However, even if your blood alcohol level is under the legal limit for an adult .08, zero tolerance means you will be charged with DWI even if your blood alcohol level is as low as 0.01 percent.
Penalties associated with a first underage DWI conviction in New Jersey include:
- Driver’s license suspension for minimum 30 days, maximum 90 days
- Community service – minimum 15 days, maximum 30 days
- Spending 12 hours (two six hour days) in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Possible DMV surcharges
- Other costs imposed by the court
- Your insurance premiums will likely be increased or you may be dropped
- The court can even make you install an ignition interlock on your car for six to 12 months after your driving suspension ends.
Why You Need a Savvy NJ Defense Lawyer to Fight Your Underage DWI Charges in Howell, New Jersey
The New Jersey criminal defense attorneys at Rudnick, Addonizio, Pappa & Casazza PC, have helped underage drivers in Holmdel, Red Bank, Monroe and Rumson and the surrounding communities who have been arrested for DUI and DWI fight their cases using a number of defenses. In some cases, the Breathalyzer machine malfunctioned, the officer did not administer the field sobriety test correctly, or perhaps your legal rights were violated during the arrest process.
Our lawyers fight to get your charges reduced or dismissed, opting for lighter sentences and reduced fines.
Understanding the Long-Term Effects of an Underage DWI Conviction in Marlboro, NJ
Although it may have just been one mistake or misunderstanding, an underage DWI conviction could impact your entire future:
- Your conviction may be viewable online (affecting your ability to get into college, obtain a loan, etc.)
- Your eligibility for some types of licenses or employment may be affected
- You will receive even harsher penalties if you have another DWI conviction within 10 years
Underage DWI charges can be fought; our legal team has helped many families in Asbury Park, Highlands, Atlantic Highlands, Leonardo, Sea Bright and Monmouth Beach and the entire Bayshore region fight underage DWI charges. We will help yours, too.
Talk to a DWI Defense Attorney Today About Your Underage Drunk Driving Charges in Middletown, New Jersey
Remember, if you are facing criminal prosecution for underage DWI or any other serious traffic violation, seek professional counsel at once. For decades, the lawyers at Rudnick, Addonizio, Pappa & Casazza PC have defended clients charged with DWI in Monmouth, Middlesex, and Ocean Counties. Contact us today to learn how we can help. Call today at 888-657-8883 to schedule a free consultation, or fill out a contact form online.