Facing DUI Charges in New Jersey
August 28, 2018
In New Jersey, the penalties for driving under the influence are steep. When convicted of this crime, individuals may face fines, prison time, community service and a license suspension. Repeated offenders will face steeper penalties.
New Jersey Resident Arrested for DUI
Authorities in New Jersey were shocked when a suspect drove while intoxicated straight to the police station. Melissa Vitale, the 49-year-old suspect, arrived at the Mount Olive Police Department to pick up another suspect, Robert Woolf. Woolf was himself arrested for driving under the influence after he violated a traffic law on Route 46. Vitale was obviously intoxicated, so police made her take a sobriety test before letting the suspect leave in her care. According to records, she failed the test and was arrested on the spot.
If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence, then you have a few legal options. You could plead guilty as charged, ask for a trial before a judge for potentially reduced punishments, demand a jury trial or attempt to plea bargain down to a reduced charge. An experienced lawyer can assist you in determining which route is best in your circumstances.
Contact New Jersey DUI Attorneys
Our experienced and proven attorneys have been defending those charged with DUIs for over 40 years. We are prepared to help you fight your charges. Contact our New Jersey criminal defense and personal injury attorneys today through our online contact form. We will reach back out to you as soon as possible.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.