Driving Without Insurance Attorney Marlboro, NJ
Uninsured Vehicle Defense Lawyer Represents Clients in Monmouth County, Middlesex County, and Ocean County, NJ
The penalties for driving an uninsured vehicle are severe in New Jersey. In some respects, they are even harsher than those for driving while intoxicated (DWI). Therefore, it’s critical you retain a knowledgeable who will work tirelessly to provide you with a sound legal defense. For decades, people facing serious traffic violation charges in Monmouth, Middlesex and Ocean counties have turned to the skilled lawyers at Rudnick, Addonizio, Pappa & Casazza PC.
With more than 80 years of combined legal experience, we will aggressively defend our clients and ensure that they receive all the protections New Jersey law affords.
What Kind of Car Insurance Do You Need in New Jersey?
New Jersey requires liability insurance on any motor vehicle that is registered and principally garaged in the state. Coverage must be at least $15,000 for the injury or death of one person; $30,000 for the injury or death of two or more people; and $5,000 for property damage. The driver is typically the one who is charged with a driving without insurance violation. The owner, however, may also be charged if they knowingly let another person drive an uninsured vehicle.
What Are the Penalties for Driving an Uninsured Vehicle in Middletown, NJ?
For a first offense, the punishments for driving an uninsured vehicle include:
- A fine of $300 to $1,000
- Drivers’ license suspension for one year
- A $250-per-year insurance surcharge for three years
For a second offense, the penalties include:
- A fine of up to $5,000
- Driver’s license suspension for two years
- A 14-day, mandatory jail term
- 30 days of community service
What Must the Prosecutor Prove to Get a Conviction for Driving Without Insurance in Howell, New Jersey?
The actions and circumstances that make up an offense are called its “elements.” To prove the elements of “driving without insurance,” the prosecutor must prove that at the time the offense took place:
- The vehicle was registered and principally garaged in New Jersey
- The driver was the owner of the vehicle and/or
- The driver knew, or should have known, that the vehicle was uninsured
For more information, read our traffic charges frequently asked questions page and speak with an attorney right away.
How Can a Lawyer Help Me Fight Uninsured Driving Charges in Long Branch, NJ?
The prosecutor must prove conclusively the element of knowledge, that the defendant “knew or should have known” the vehicle was uninsured. If the court decides that prosecutor hasn’t done that, or that the defense has raised a reasonable doubt about it, the defendant must be acquitted.
Considering the stiff penalties for a conviction, you’ll want a highly skilled lawyer sitting beside you in the courtroom. The traffic ticket attorneys at Rudnick, Addonizio, Pappa & Casazza PC are known across New Jersey for successfully resolving traffic matters for a wide range of clients. We aggressively defend our clients against motor vehicle charges to ensure that they receive all the protections New Jersey law provides.
We are here for you. From our Hazlet and East Brunswick offices, we serve clients in and around Hazlet, Middletown, Keyport, Union Beach, Holmdel, Red Bank, Monroe, Rumson, Asbury Park, Highlands, Atlantic Highlands, Leonardo, Sea Bright and Monmouth Beach.
Call today at 888-657-8883 to schedule a free consultation, or fill out a contact form online.