Ten years ago, the US government ran around 36,000 background checks for people who wanted to purchase guns in New Jersey. In the first 10 months of October, close to 70,000 background checks have been completed for NJ gun buyers.
Gun laws are extremely strict in New Jersey. It’s because of that, some experts suggest, that people are more determined to get a weapon.
That being said, the government doesn’t make it easy for gun dealers to get permission to sell firearms in the Garden State. There are stiff security precautions and regular inspections for gun dealers. In fact, both state and federal inspections, usually unannounced, occur about every three years. There are rules about locking up all inventory at night and every gun shop – whether it’s a storefront or a home-based gun store – must have a working alarm system. These are New Jersey laws that are impossible for dealers to get around.
One of the most important things for gun dealers in NJ is to know the laws here – and how they differ from other states. Being proficient at doing a National Instant Criminal Background Check is a critical part of the job.
Gun dealers are held to very high standards as are those who purchase weapons. In the state of New Jersey, you can be charged with a second degree offense if you are found in possession of a handgun without a NJ carry permit. Police here don’t care if you are licensed in another state. Without an NJ permit, you may be charged with breaking N.J.S.A. 2C:39-5b. If you get convicted of this charge, you face between five and 10 years in jail.
If you or someone you know is facing weapons possession charges, or any other gun related charge, you need to call an aggressive criminal defense lawyer who will fight for your freedom. Contact Rudnick, Addonizio, Pappa & Casazza PC for a consultation about your criminal charges.